Skip to content

Why Breathing Matters

May 24, 2012

This website and blog is mainly about my interest and love for the non profit sector, but just occasionally I indulge myself through more personal statements. As I sit today happily in my garden trying to work on the Research paper on collaborative working and mergers that has been accepted for the International Social Innovation Conference at Birmingham University in September the difficult times over the past three years begin to feel happily remote. Having been life threateningly ill with a very rare auto-immune disorder I’ve largely recovered, both physically and emotionally.

The world class Rheumatology and Respiratory Medicine Departments at University College Hospital look after me – and my experience of the NHS overall has been amazing. Breathing Matters is a UCLH charity set up to support the Centre for Respiratory Research in its pioneering work – looking for ways for more effective diagnoses, treatment and ultimately a cure for interstitial lung diseases and other respiratory infections. Breathing Matters is crucial to its work, helping to:
•Support those diagnosed with Interstitial Lung Disease better understand and manage their illness
•Raise public and media awareness of these diseases
•Encourage fundraising to enable more research
•Improve disease management through deeper patient engagement

I was asked to write a short piece about my experience of illness(click the link). It’s as true and honest as I could make it and I should really appreciate it if readers take a look – and share the work of Breathing Matters with family and friends. I’d also welcome any comments based on experience of ill health.

I’ve also rashly promised to take part in a sponsored bike ride to raise funds for Breathing Matters on 16 June and will be tapping all my friends for sponsorship!
.

No comments yet

Leave a comment